top of page
  • jennydear2

Japanese

So me wanting to keep challenging myself to make more interesting meals Ashley requested me attempt some Japanese cooking.

Now I haven't done anything this challenging in a while so was a bit nervous about how this was going to turn out.


I decided on pork belly as it is his favourite and wanted to pair with some simple Soy sushi rice. I have a glaze that I have used before and wanted to think about how to cook the pork belly to make sure it was not tough, so decided to slow cook it

Then I used the left over stock to make a simple ramen to go with it. See Pork Belly P1


It went down pretty well for my first proper attempt at Japanese cooking.



Furthering on from our Japanese home feast we decided to try Wagamama, mainly because we were hungry and it is right outside our Gym. Ashley had never been before. We decided to share a few dishes 2 starters 2 main and shared a desert. That way we could try a few different things. We were very happy with our food.... for full review see Cheeky post gym Wagamama


After our trip to Wagamama I decided to attempt another Japanese recipe, I attempted my own steamed Bao buns, with sticky pork belly

I don't have a bamboo steamer so I improvised

Think they came out pretty well, I certainly had no complaints. For full recipe See pork Belly 2

For main course

I made Chilli lime and ginger marinated Tuna

and popped some tender stem broccoli and teriyaki noodles with them.


So I think all in all our Japanese food trail was a success.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page